Research Prizes 2019 announced

18 April 2019
The Praemium Erasmianum Foundation annually awards five Research Prizes of €3,000 each. The prize winners for 2019 have now been selected.

Since 1988, the Foundation annually awards Research Prizes to young academic researchers in the humanities and social sciences, who have written a PhD dissertation of outstanding quality at a university in the Netherlands.

We congratulate the prize winners of 2019:

Dr. Annemarie van Geel
For women only. Gender segregation, Islam and modernity in Saudi Arabia and Kuwait.
Radboud University Nijmegen

Dr. Eva Groen-Reijman
Deliberative Political Campaigns: Democracy, Autonomy and Persuasion.
University of Amsterdam

Dr. Dilek Kurban
The Limits of Transnational Justice: The European Court of Human Rights, Turkey and the Kurdish Conflict.
Maastricht University

Dr. Marijke Naezer
Sexy Adventures. An ethnography of youth, sexuality and social media.
Radboud University Nijmegen

Dr. Evelyn Wan
Clocked! Time and Biopower in the Age of Algorithms.
Utrecht University

The award ceremony will take place on Thursday 16 May 2019, 16.00 hrs at the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW, Kloveniersburgwal 29, Amsterdam). You are kindly invited to attend the award ceremony, please register here. For more information on the Research Prizes, please read here.