Research Prizes 2018 announced

05 April 2018
The Praemium Erasmianum Foundation annually awards five Research Prizes of €3,000 each. The prize winners for 2018 have now been selected.


Since 1988, the Foundation annually awards Research Prizes to young academic researchers in the humanities and social sciences, who have written a PhD dissertation of outstanding quality at a university in the Netherlands.

We congratulate the prize winners of 2018:

Pepijn Corduwener
The problem of democracy in Europe. Conflicting and converging
conceptions of democracy in France, West Germany and Italy, 1945-1989.

Utrecht University, Faculty of Humanities

Joost Van Driessche
Techno-wetenschappelijke, literaire en ethische bewegingen van taal.

University of Groningen, Faculty of Philosophy

Maaike Matelski
Constructing civil society in Myanmar: Struggles for local change and global recognition.
Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, Faculty of Social Sciences

Eva Meijer
Political animal voices.
University of Amsterdam, Faculty of Humanities

Else Vogel
Subjects of care: Living with overweight in the Netherlands.
University of Amsterdam, Faculty of Social and Behavioural Sciences

The award ceremony will take place on Wednesday 16 May 2018, 16.00 hrs at the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW, Kloveniersburgwal 29, Amsterdam). You are kindly invited to attend the award ceremony, please register here. For more information on the Research Prizes, please read here.